Family Finance

With over 40 members Pump Court Chambers has one of the largest specialist family finance teams of any set at the Bar. Our Family Finance Team, headed by Edward Boydell, is home to six recognised Chambers and Partners “Leaders at the Bar” and is consistently ranked first on the Western Circuit for family finance. We have three Queen’s Counsel and nearly 40  juniors specialising in family finance and are home to a number of Recorders and Deputy District Judges sitting on Circuit and in the Principal Registry of the Family Division.

The spectrum of work undertaken by our barristers  covers the full range of family finance  from complex high net worth “Big Money” cases to those cases with more modest assets and incomes.   The team has experience and expertise of appearing in courts at all levels including  the Magistrates’ Court, the County Court, the High Court and the Court of Appeal. The type of work we do includes:

  • Injunctive relief and worldwide freezing orders
  • Cases involving Farms and family businesses
  • Cases involving trusts including offshore trusts
  • Cases involving bankruptcy and liquidation
  • Nuptial agreements
  • Financial claims following  overseas divorces
  • Property claims between unmarried and same sex couples including TOLATA claims
  • Divorce proceedings
  • Financial remedies on the dissolution of Civil Partnerships
  • Trusts of Land disputes and equitable co-ownership

We provide in-house seminars and continuing professional education through our own training programme and in conjunction with other providers such as local Resolution groups, Central Law Training, Cpdcast and Datalaw.

Many members of the team are also qualified mediators.  Currently three team members sit as part-time judges hearing financial remedy cases or appeals and are available to conduct private FDRs and/or mediations

Tony Atkins, our senior Team Clerk, has a commercial approach to fee negotiation and is willing to discuss progressive fee arrangements to suit differing client and case requirements. If you wish to discuss bespoke fee structures or arrange a seminar Tony can be contacted by phone on 0207 353 0711 or by email at t.atkins@pumpcourtchambers.com

Barristers

Susan Campbell QC

020 7353 0711

s.campbell@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1986

Leslie Samuels QC

020 7353 0711

l.samuels@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1989

Leslie has a substantial financial remedies practice, both as a Junior and now in Silk. His experience as a Deputy District Judge, a Recorder and...

John Ker-Reid

020 7353 0711

jkr@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1974

Julie Mackenzie

01793 539899

j.mackenzie@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1978

Julie acts in a range of cases whether they involve substantial sums or modest sums of money: she is known for using a sensible and realistic...

Martin Blount

020 7353 0711

m.blount@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1982

Hugh Travers

020 7353 0711

h.travers@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1988

Edward Boydell

020 7353 0711

e.boydell@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1989

Catherine Breslin

020 7353 0711

c.breslin@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1990

Catherine has great expertise in all aspects of matrimonial finance with extensive experience of complex medium and high net worth cases. She is...

Julian Reed

020 7353 0711

j.reed@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1991

He has a substantial financial provision practice dealing with businesses, farming disputes, companies and partnerships. He is regularly asked to...

Gary Self

01962 868161

g.self@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1991

Gary has twenty five years experience in family finance work and is regularly instructed in complex and high net worth family cases. Gary has...

Imogen Robins

01962 868161

i.robins@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1991

Imogen specialises in Matrimonial finance with considerable experience in cases involving pensions, family businesses and non disclosure.  She...

Geoffrey Kelly

020 7353 0711

g.kelly@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1992

Oliver Peirson

020 7353 0711

o.peirson@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1993

Oliver receives instructions in medium to big money cases. He has extensive experience of high net worth cases involving family businesses, farms,...

Elizabeth Gunther

020 7353 0711

e.gunther@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1993

Richard Hall

020 7353 0711

r.hall@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1995

Mark Dubbery

020 7353 0711

m.dubbery@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1996

Mark specialises in matrimonial finance (with particular expertise in advancing or resisting claims by third parties), claims under the Trusts of...

Maria Gallagher

020 7353 0711

m.gallagher@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1997

Andrew Grime

01793 539899

a.grime@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1997

In family law Andrew undertakes a wide variety of financial settlements following the breakdown of marriage and civil partnership (financial relief)...

Annie Ward

01962 868161

a.ward@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1997

Annie specialises in medium to big money cases that involve issues such as financial conduct, overseas and domestic trusts, third party property...

Ruth Arlow

020 7353 0711

clerks@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1997

Ruth’s practice encompasses the financial aspects of family provisions including substantial financial settlement (ancillary relief) claims,...

Andrew Bond

020 7353 0711

a.bond@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1999

Andrew is instructed regularly at all stages of the financial settlement (ancillary relief) process, from First Directions Appointment (FDA) through...

Louise De Rozarieux

020 7353 0711

l.derozarieux@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1999

Stuart McGhee

01962 868161

s.mcghee@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2000

Stuart is frequently instructed in financial matters following the breakdown of marriage and civil partnerships, with unusual features.  In the...

Alison Burge

020 7353 0711

a.burge@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2002

Alison has considerable experience in all types of financial remedy cases, including under Schedule 1 of the Children Act 1989. She deals both with...

David Josty

01962 868161

d.josty@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2002

David has developed a practice around his interest in TOLATA and, as a result, he also receives instruction in ancillary relief matters (for both...

Neelo Shravat

020 7353 0711

n.shravat@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2002

John Chapman

020 7353 0711

j.chapman@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2003

He is regularly instructed to act in complex disputes, involving companies, trusts, overseas property and cases involving medium to high value assets...

Lucy Davis

020 7353 0711

l.davis@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2003

Lucy's practice in family finance cases ranges from matters requiring needs based solutions to those of a high net worth. Lucy has particular...

Zoe Rudd

020 7353 0711

z.rudd@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2003

Family Finance Zoe has expertise in litigation involving financial settlements following the breakdown of marriage or civil partnership from the...

Charlotte Street

020 7353 0711

c.street@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2003

Charlotte has significant experience in matrimonial finance involving property disputes and issues concerning business interests and pensions. ...

Tara Lyons

020 7353 0711

t.lyons@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2005

Tara has significant experience for her call in matrimonial finance and cases concerning financial provision for children under Schedule 1 of the...

Corinne Iten

020 7353 0711

c.iten@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2006

Patricia O’Driscoll

020 7353 0711

p.odriscoll@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2006

  Patricia practices in all areas of family finance following divorce or breakdown in partnerships and also has experience in subsequent...

Jennifer Lee

020 7353 0711

clerks@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2007

  Jennifer has developed a thriving practice in the area of family finance, and has successfully represented clients in high-value cases...

Eleanor Bruce

020 7353 0711

e.bruce@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2008

Eleanor is successfully developing her matrimonial finance practice and has represented clients in cases involving high value pensions, companies,...

Simon Purkis

020 7353 0711

s.purkis@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2008

Simon provides advice and represents his clients in all aspects of family law including the financial aspects of divorce, and both private and public...

Jennifer Swan

020 7353 0711

j.swan@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2009

Jennie is developing a comprehensive family finance practice and has experience in matrimonial finance and related enforcement proceedings,...

Nicholas Williamson

020 7353 0711

n.williamson@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2009

Victoria Ellis

020 7353 0711

v.ellis@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2010

Victoria has developed a strong financial practice; she accepts instructions in relation to all stages of proceedings, representing clients from...

Naomi Gyane

020 7353 0711

n.gyane@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2010

Paul Mertens

0207 3530711

p.mertens@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2010

Paul gained significant exposure to financial remedies hearings as a Pupil to Geoffrey Kelly and has since been instructed to represent parties at...

Jack Rundall

020 7353 0711

j.rundall@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2011

Jack has a particular interest in family finance disputes and has been involved in cases concerning complex non-matrimonial property arguments, non-...

Maria Henty

020 7353 0711 / 01962 868161

m.henty@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2012

Lucy Plumpton

020 7353 0711 / 01962 868161

l.plumpton@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2013

Lucy acts in matrimonial finance disputes and welcomes instructions from spouses, civil partners and cohabitees. She has an excellent eye for detail...

Samuel Burrett

020 7353 0711

s.burrett@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2013

Cordelia Williams

c.williams@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2014

Cordelia represents clients in financial remedy proceedings from first appointment to final hearing, and related enforcement proceedings. She has...

Richard Wayman

020 7353 0711

r.wayman@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2015

Jesse Cook

020 7353 0711

j.cook@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2012

Samara Brackley

020 7353 0711

s.brackley@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2016

Samara assists clients in all financial remedies disciplines and has experience of first appointments, FDRs and trials, including preliminary issue...