Administrative and Public Law

Pump Court Chambers Administrative and Public law team have a wide range of experience within public and local government law as well chambers related specialist areas of practice such as children law, court of protection, commercial, criminal,  employment,  inquests and inquiries, property, regulatory and disciplinary and transport law. We able to offer breadth of talent and experience across all levels of experience from Silk to more new qualified barristers in order to offer our clients an expert and competitive service. As well as being expert court room advocates a number of our team have undertaken secondments with central and local government departments in order to further enhance our offering.

Our barristers act for claimants and defendants in a wide range of public law challenges within the UK and abroad involving government departments, local authorities, the prison services, the police, NHS trusts and care providers, disciplinary and regulatory bodies, private individuals and other commercial organisations.

Our expertise encompasses challenging decisions in the context of children’s services, education, adult social care, employee rights, and provision for the disabled, prisoners' rights, sports law, healthcare and financial regulation.

Our barristers have experience in all aspects of judicial review, including obtaining emergency orders and other interim relief to prevent breaches of human rights, following up judicial reviews with actions for damages in both the County and High Court and successfully pursuing judicial review matters to the Court of Appeal and Supreme Court. We have acted in a number of high profile cases and we have a deserved reputation for committed and professional conduct.
 

Our public law expertise:

Barristers

Oba Nsugbe QC

020 7353 0711

o.nsugbe@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1985

Nigel Pascoe QC

020 7353 0711

n.pascoe@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1966

Leslie Samuels QC

020 7353 0711

l.samuels@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1989

Leslie undertakes a substantial quantity of judicial review work acting both for Claimants and Defendants in cases involving challenges to local...

Stewart Patterson

01962 868161

s.patterson@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1967

Charles Parry

020 7353 0711

c.parry@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1973

Justin Gau

020 7353 0711

j.gau@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1989

Mark Ruffell

020 7353 0711

m.ruffell@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1992

Maria Gallagher

020 7353 0711

m.gallagher@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1997

Jason Nickless

020 7353 0711

j.nickless@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2001

Simon Lane

020 7353 0711

s.lane@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2002

Timothy Akers

01962 868161

t.akers@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2005

Corinne Iten

020 7353 0711

c.iten@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2006

Paul Mertens

0207 3530711

p.mertens@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2010

Ezra Macdonald

020 7353 0711

e.macdonald@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2012

Lucy Plumpton

020 7353 0711 / 01962 868161

l.plumpton@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2013

Michael Standing

01962 868161 / 020 7353 0711

m.standing@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2013