Regulatory and Disciplinary

Businesses and Professions are nowadays highly regulated. A failure to comply with the standards expected by regulators can be fatal to the reputation of a business or an individual. Regulators are seen by the public as the guardians of public safety and of the standards expected. However, regulatory and disciplinary proceedings can often commence on a false understanding of how a business or a professional acted and representation before a tribunal is essential.

As one of the largest common law sets of chambers in the country, our Regulatory and Disciplinary Team is made up of Barristers with experience in representing businesses and clients in parallel proceedings involving commercial, employment or criminal litigation. We run training for our team in advocacy and case law for regulatory and disciplinary proceedings.

Our team accepts direct access instructions and instructions from professional representational bodies and insurers.

Our team provide bespoke in-house seminars to our professional clients and assists our professional clients to provide seminars to their corporate clients.

 

Healthcare:

  • Our team specialises in cases involving Care Homes, cases before professional healthcare regulators, Court of Protection and Mental Health Review Tribunals.
  • Some members our team sit as Legal Assessors for healthcare regulators.
  • We specialise in
    • Representing Registered Service Providers who challenge decisions made by the CQC.
    • Representing doctors, nurses and healthcare workers before their regulators.
    • Representing Registered Service Providers and families at Coroner’s Inquests.
    • Representing Registered Service Providers and employees in employment disputes.
    • Representing interested parties in the Court of Protection.
    • Representing carers in disputes over funding.

 

Professional Discipline:

  • Our team specialises in disciplinary cases involving the Lawyers, Police, Sports, Clergy, Accountants, Teachers, Financial Advisers, Vets and Farriers.
  • Some members of our team sit as Legal Advisers to professional bodies responsible for disciplinary and competence hearings.
  • We specialise in:
    • Representing professionals in disciplinary proceedings held by their professional body.
    • Representing professionals in parallel employment litigation.

 

Financial Services and Business Regulation:

  • Our team specialises in cases involving Financial Services Regulation, Serious Fraud, Bribery and Corruption, Trading Standards and Consumer Protection, Data Protection and Planning Enforcement. We work closely with our business and commercial team involved in parallel litigation.
  • Our team have represented those charged with offences involved with breaches of financial services regulations, fraudulent trading, insider dealing, and offences contrary to the Insolvency Act 1986, the Company Directors Disqualification Act 1986 and the Consumer Credit Act 2015.
  • Our team have represented those facing confiscation of assets in civil proceedings under the Proceeds of Crime Act 2002 and are able to represent those challenging an Interim Freezing Order and resisting applications for an Unexplained Wealth Order.
  • We specialise in:
    • Representing commercial clients facing criminal proceedings.
    • Representing commercial clients involved in civil litigation.

 

Public Safety:

  • Our team specialises in cases involving Health and Safety, Transport, Maritime, Inquests and Inquiries , Environment, Licensing and Parole Board Hearings.
  • Our team’s Health and Safety experience covers both fatal and non-fatal accidents, including manslaughter, gross negligence manslaughter, breaches of the Health and Safety at Work Act and the full range of workplace regulations.
  • Our team represents concerned families and interested parties of accident victims, victims of suicides, misadventure, deaths arising during Police operations and armed forces personnel killed during service.
  • Our team defends and prosecutes in cases involving noise pollution, revocation of waste operator licences, fly tipping and cases of environmental pollution involving hazardous substances. We are able to conduct appeals to the Planning Inspectorate against the revocation of licences.
  • Some members of our team have specialist knowledge of matters affecting rural communities.
  • We specialise in:Representing companies and individuals in proceedings brought by the HSE.
    • Representing vehicle operators in proceedings before Traffic Commissioners.
    • Representing Private Hire Vehicles and Hackney Carriages owners.
    • Representing those charged with Road Traffic offences.
    • Representing those whose vehicles who have been seized by the UKBA.
    • Representing those charged with offences arising from the Merchant Shipping (Accident Reporting and Investigation) Regulations 2005.
    • Representing interested parties at Coroners’ Courts.
    • Representing interest parties at Inquiries.
    • Representing prisoners at Parole Board hearings.
  • Our team have represented those charged with offences involving breaches of financial services regulations, fraudulent trading, insider dealing, offences contrary to the Insolvency Act 1986, the Company Directors Disqualification Act 1986 and the Consumer Credit Act 2015. We have acted for those facing confiscation of assets in civil proceedings under the Proceeds of Crime Act and advised those prosecuting on whether assets can be seized and restrained.

Barristers

Oba Nsugbe QC

020 7353 0711

o.nsugbe@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1985

Oba is able to provide expert regulatory guidance to businesses needing to comply with the legal framework in Nigeria. Furthermore, through a close...

Nigel Pascoe QC

020 7353 0711

n.pascoe@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1966

Nigel Pascoe sits as a legal assessor in the NMC where his long experience in very serious crime and mental health is valuable. He has also...

James Newton-Price QC

01962 868161

jnp@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1992

James is developing a practice in the regulation and discipline of medical and health care professionals, having been instructed in cases...

Charles Parry

020 7353 0711

c.parry@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1973

Charles is described in Chambers 2011, Leaders at the Bar, within the Health and Safety Law entry as, having a "willingness to roll up his...

Matthew Scott

020 7353 0711

m.scott@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1985

Matthew is an experienced criminal and regulatory practitioner.  Many of his regulatory cases have had a rural flavour.  He has particular...

Justin Gau

020 7353 0711

j.gau@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1989

Has represented Nurses on matters of misconduct and fitness to practice before the Nursing & Midwifery Council. Sits as a legal assessor for the...

Mark Ruffell

020 7353 0711

m.ruffell@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1992

Mark is head of Pump Court Chambers Regulatory and Disciplinary Team. He has a wide range of experience in regulatory and disciplinary cases....

Mark Ashley

020 7353 0711

m.ashley@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1993

Has considerable experience in regulatory and disciplinary cases.  In particular Mark is instructed in matters relating to Health and Safety...

Tom Wilkins

01962 868161

t.wilkins@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1993

Peter Asteris

020 7353 0711

p.asteris@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1996

Has undertaken a wide range of regulatory work over a number of years. Recent instructions include: Road Traffic Commissioner Enquiries...

Timothy Dracass

0207 3530711 or 01962 868161

t.dracass@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1998

Drawing on his experience of criminal advocacy, he has an interest in professional disciplinary and regulatory proceedings and has previously acted...

Richard Tutt

01962 868161

r.tutt@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2000

Ranked as a Leading Junior by Legal 500, 2014-17, "He has a wealth of experience in the health and safety field, and has a formidable track record...

Caroline Hartley

020 7353 0711

c.hartley@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2002

Caroline has significant experience in medical disciplinary cases. Since 2011, she has been a legal assessor for the GMC and since 2013 a legal...

Heather Platt

020 7353 0711

h.platt@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2002

Heather has expertise in regulatory matters, in particular the regulation of professionals such as Doctors, nurses, social workers, teachers, police...

John Dyer

01962 868161

j.dyer@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2002

Conor Mullan

020 7353 0711

c.mullan@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2003

Conor appears in corporate Health and Safety legal seminars for Solicitors SRT Donnelly and Associates in conjunction with Pinsent Masons Solicitors...

Adam Gadd

020 7353 0711

a.gadd@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2004

Throughout his career Adam has acted in a number of cases involving regulatory law including workplace disciplinary hearings, criminal regulatory...

Eleanor Fargin

01962 868161

e.fargin@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2004

Timothy Akers

01962 868161

t.akers@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2005

Tim sits as the appointed Clerk to the Disciplinary Tribunal of the Chartered Institute of Legal Executives (CILEx), providing legal advice in cases...

Rachel Troup

01962 868161

r.troup@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2005

Guy Draper

020 7353 0711

g.draper@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2008

Drawing on his experience in criminal law, in particular in fraud and confiscation, Guy accepts instructions in regulatory and disciplinary cases. He...

Victoria Ellis

020 7353 0711

v.ellis@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2010

Victoria has a keen interest in professional discipline and assisted Nigel Pascoe QC in relation to the Public Inquiry regarding the conduct of Mike...

Naomi Gyane

020 7353 0711

n.gyane@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2010

Naomi's experience in the areas of employment and crime, coupled with her knowledge of procedures in relation to a wide range of regulatory...

Andrew Stone

01793 539899

a.stone@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2011

Maria Henty

020 7353 0711 / 01962 868161

m.henty@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2012

Ezra Macdonald

020 7353 0711

e.macdonald@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2012

Ezra is able to act as a case presenter on behalf of the Nursing and Midwifery Council, and is able to provide both representation and advice to...

Michael Standing

01962 868161 / 020 7353 0711

m.standing@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2013

Michael’s experience in criminal and civil law means he is well placed to act in regulatory matters.  He was recently seconded (part time) to...

Samuel Burrett

020 7353 0711

s.burrett@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2013

Richard Wayman

020 7353 0711

r.wayman@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2015