Public Access and Direct Access

How can we help?

Recent changes in the law mean that members of the public, commercial organisations and non commercial organisations can now instruct a barrister directly without the need to go through a solicitor or intermediary.

This procedure is known as ‘public access’ and has helped saved companies and individuals significant amounts of time and money.

Contact our dedicated team waiting for your call or complete this simple enquiry form and wait for us to call you back

Please  always send copies of all relevant documentation preferably by email, Pump Court Chambers does not accept liability for any original  documents sent.

 

Frequently asked questions:

What are the advantages?

  • Cost – You can save substantial cost by going to a barrister direct and doing some of the work yourself. Solicitors often seek advise from barristers for their specialist knowledge and incisive opinions, now you can come direct and save money without having to instruct a solicitor first.
  • Expertise – Our barristers are often instructed for their expert opinions, many of our practitioners are recognised as leaders in their field in the leading legal directories.
  • Clarity – Fees can be agreed in advance, so there are no hidden costs.  We operate a fixed fee service so you know exactly what work you are paying for, whether it's for a piece of advice or for the whole case.
  • Speed – Barristers are experts in their areas and get to the heart of the problem, quickly and efficiently.
  • Support – All our barristers are supported by our experienced clerking team who will ensure your case is matched with the right barrister.

Do I need a solicitor or a barrister?

In a nutshell both solicitors and barristers are types of lawyer.

Historically, both roles were quite distinct, however recent changes in the law have enabled barristers to enjoy a wider role and generally speaking, the public have benefited from these changes.

A barrister is like a consultant – he or she specialises in a few areas of the law, with focus, expertise and experience.

In the past, solicitors would give advice to their clients and then prepare their cases for litigation or trial. In contrast the principle role of barristers had previously been to represent their clients effectively in court with the intention of achieving the most favourable outcomes.

Time has moved on and now an increasing number of barristers have extended their role and happily engage in giving legal advice in addition to the representations that they make in court. Unbeknown to many, using a barrister directly will often be very much cheaper than going to a solicitor first.  This is because you can do some of the preparation for trial yourself and take expert advice as and when you need it.

 

How do I know if my case is suitable for direct access?

Direct Access (also known as Public Access) allows our barristers to undertake the following work:

  • represent you in court or in tribunal or other disciplinary hearings
  • provide you with expert legal advice
  • assist you to draft correspondence
  • help to draft statements from litigants and witnesses
  • negotiate settlement terms and execute them (eg settlement agreements)
  • advise you on suitable experts and draft instructions to expert witnesses
  • offer you advice on the next steps to be taken in proceedings
  • draft formal documents – like a will
     

How do I instruct a barrister and how do I know if they’re right for my case?

All our barristers’ administrative functions are managed by our experienced and specially trained clerking team.  Our clerks are known for providing a consistently high service and are sensitive to your needs. Once you’ve filled out our contact form with the details of your case, a member of our clerking team will contact you within one working day, usually sooner, in order to match the right barrister to your case. Alternatively please dial 020 7353 0711 or 01962 868161 to speak to a member of the team. For more information on the team please click here.

 

What if my case is not suitable for direct access?

Each of our barristers must strictly adhere to the Bar Code of Conduct and as such, if in reviewing your case the barrister considers that a solicitor should be instructed in your own interests or for another professional reason, the barrister will advise you of this and of the next steps they suggest for you.  Should this situation arise, the barrister will advise you of it as soon as possible.

This may also be the case in the event that your case is be suitable for public funding.

For more information about the Public Access Scheme, please visit the Bar Council's website.

Please note that our clerks cannot give legal advice and that we do not accept liability for your case until a Public Access Agreement has been signed by you and your barrister.

 

Barristers

Leslie Samuels QC

020 7353 0711

l.samuels@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1989

Stewart Patterson

01962 868161

s.patterson@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1967

Giles Harrap

020 7353 0711

g.harrap@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1971

Frank Abbott

01962 868161

f.abbott@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1972

Charles Parry

020 7353 0711

c.parry@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1973

John Ker-Reid

020 7353 0711

jkr@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1974

Charles Gabb

020 7353 0711

c.gabb@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1975

Julie Mackenzie

01793 539899

j.mackenzie@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1978

Martin Blount

020 7353 0711

m.blount@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1982

Kevin Haven

01962 868161 / 020 7353 0711

k.haven@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1982

Matthew Scott

020 7353 0711

m.scott@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1985

He is happy to accept direct access instructions to defend individuals charged with any offences or accused by disciplinary bodies.

Hugh Travers

020 7353 0711

h.travers@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1988

Justin Gau

020 7353 0711

j.gau@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1989

Catherine Breslin

020 7353 0711

c.breslin@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1990

Julian Reed

020 7353 0711

j.reed@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1991

Gary Self

01962 868161

g.self@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1991

Geoffrey Kelly

020 7353 0711

g.kelly@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1992

James Newton-Price

01962 868161

jnp@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1992

Mark Ruffell

020 7353 0711

m.ruffell@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1992

Mark Ashley

020 7353 0711

m.ashley@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1993

Mark is a fully trained Public Access Barrister.

Oliver Peirson

020 7353 0711

o.peirson@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1993

Robert Pawson

020 7353 0711

r.pawson@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1994

Richard Hall

020 7353 0711

r.hall@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1995

Peter Asteris

020 7353 0711

p.asteris@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1996

Mark Dubbery

020 7353 0711

m.dubbery@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1996

Michael Hall

020 7353 0711

m.hall@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1996

Sarah Jones

020 7353 0711

sf.jones@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1996

Amy Ephgrave

01793 539899

a.ephgrave@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1997

Maria Gallagher

020 7353 0711

m.gallagher@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1997

Andrew Grime

01793 539899

a.grime@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1997

Annie Ward

01962 868161

a.ward@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1997

Andrew Bond

020 7353 0711

a.bond@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1999

Rachel Spearing

020 7353 0711

r.spearing@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1999

Anne Brown

02073530711

a.brown@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2000

Stuart McGhee

01962 868161

s.mcghee@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2000

Richard Tutt

01962 868161

r.tutt@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2000

Jason Nickless

020 7353 0711

j.nickless@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2001

Jason Nickless is trained and qualified to provide direct access work to the public. He has represented a number of companies and individuals in this...

Alison Burge

020 7353 0711

a.burge@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2002

David Josty

01962 868161

d.josty@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2002

Heather Platt

020 7353 0711

h.platt@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2002

Neelo Shravat

020 7353 0711

n.shravat@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2002

Simon Lane

020 7353 0711

s.lane@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2002

Simon is often instructed by members of the public, without the involvement of a solicitor in the areas of work in which he practices, in particular...

John Chapman

020 7353 0711

j.chapman@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2003

Lucy Davis

020 7353 0711

l.davis@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2003

Claire Fox

020 7353 0711

c.fox@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2003

Zoe Rudd

020 7353 0711

z.rudd@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2003

Charlotte Street

020 7353 0711

c.street@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2003

Adam Gadd

020 7353 0711

a.gadd@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2004

Tara Lyons

020 7353 0711

t.lyons@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2005

Corinne Iten

020 7353 0711

c.iten@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2006

Daniella Gilbert

020 7353 0711

d.gilbert@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2007

Jennifer Lee

020 7353 0711

clerks@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2007

Eleanor Bruce

020 7353 0711

e.bruce@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2008

Guy Draper

020 7353 0711

g.draper@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2008

Simon Purkis

020 7353 0711

s.purkis@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2008

Jennifer Swan

020 7353 0711

j.swan@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2009

Nicholas Williamson

020 7353 0711

n.williamson@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2009

Naomi Gyane

020 7353 0711

n.gyane@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2010

Paul Mertens

0207 3530711

p.mertens@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2010

Jack Rundall

020 7353 0711

j.rundall@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2011

Maria Henty

020 7353 0711 / 01962 868161

m.henty@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2012

Ezra Macdonald

01962 868161

e.macdonald@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2012