Inheritance, Wills and Probate

The Pump Court Inheritance, Wills and Probate Team provides specialists in resolving inheritance related problems. While advocacy services have always been at the heart of the work done by the team – and members of the team have been involved in many of the leading cases on the 1975 Act from Coventry [1980] 1 Ch 461 and Callaghan [1985] Fam 1 in the early days to the more recent cases of Myers [2005] WTLR 529 and P v G [2006] 1 FLR 431, Holliday v Musa [2010] 2 FLR 702, Ilott v Mitson [2011] Fam Law 798 and Iqbal v Ahmed [2012] 1 FLR 31  – we pride ourselves on providing a service that is friendly towards those who are suffering the trauma of bereavement compounded by family dispute. Members have been selected for their ability to deal tactfully with both client and opposition alike. All are skilled in modern methods of Alternative Dispute Resolution as well as being experienced, and if required robust, advocates. Of the ten members of the team five are qualified mediators and members of the Pump Court Inheritance Mediation service that provides specialist mediators to help resolve these disputes.

The scope of the specialist work of the team includes:

Barristers

Leslie Samuels QC

020 7353 0711

l.samuels@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1989

He advises and represents litigants in a wide range of probate related claims and property disputes. Leslie is an accredited ADR civil mediator...

Julian Reed

020 7353 0711

j.reed@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1991

His practice includes contentious probate matters, acting for both claimants and defendants (including executors) in cases involving the Inheritance...

Mark Dubbery

020 7353 0711

m.dubbery@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1996

Mark is regularly instructed in claims pursuant to the Inheritance (Provision for Family and Dependants) Act 1975 and other contentious probate...

Andrew Grime

01793 539899

a.grime@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1997

Andrew has extensive experience in claims concerning inheritance and the vulnerable elderly. He regularly undertakes work in a number of areas of...

Annie Ward

01962 868161

a.ward@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1997

Annie has a real depth of experience in contentious probate cases, Inheritance (Provision for Family and Dependants) Act 1975 claims and Court of...

Jason Nickless

020 7353 0711

j.nickless@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2001

Jason Nickless provides representation and advice in this very sensitive area of law. He can provide practical and carefully considered assistance...

Simon Lane

020 7353 0711

s.lane@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2002

Simon deals with claims arising on death, contentious private client and traditional chancery cases including: -  ...

Amy Berry

020 7353 0711

a.berry@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2003

Amy regularly advises on and acts in claims pursuant to CPR 57 and 64 including matters under the Inheritance (Provision for Family and Dependents)...

Charlotte Street

020 7353 0711

c.street@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2003

Charlotte’s civil practice predominantly concerns matters of a family nature: trusts, inheritance and probate.

Tara Lyons

020 7353 0711

t.lyons@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2005

Tara regularly receives instructions in claims concerning the Inheritance (Provision for Family and Dependants) Act 1975, contentious probate...

Corinne Iten

020 7353 0711

c.iten@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2006

  Civil Law In Civil Law Corinne has a particular interest in property and inheritance matters.  She enjoys the intellectual challenge of...

Jennifer Lee

020 7353 0711

clerks@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2007

Jennifer receives instructions in claims concerning the Inheritance (Provision for Family and Dependants) Act 1975 and disputes about validity of...

Victoria Ellis

020 7353 0711

v.ellis@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2010

Victoria has a keen interest in the area of Inheritance law, she is able to advise and provide representation in relation to the validity of wills,...

Paul Mertens

0207 3530711

p.mertens@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2010

Paul has a keen interest in Inheritance Act claims, having written advices in this area during his pupillage and attended the case of Musa v Holliday...

Lucy Plumpton

020 7353 0711 / 01962 868161

l.plumpton@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2013

Lucy is keen to build her practice in inheritance, wills and probate, bringing a solid grounding in related areas of property law and family finance...

Michael Standing

01962 868161 / 020 7353 0711

m.standing@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2013