Employment and Discrimination

Our dedicated team of barristers includes specialists in all areas of employment and discrimination law.  We are recognised as experts in our field by the leading independent legal directories. We are regularly instructed to act on behalf of employees and employers in all types of contentious and non-contentious litigation from providing expert advice on compliance, drafting contractual terms to representation before the Courts and Employment Tribunals throughout the UK and overseas. 

We provide experience in public and private sector case work at all levels, with a number of our members sitting as part time employment judges. We also have a number of qualified mediators and we accept direct public access instructions from in house counsel, other professionals and members of public where appropriate.

Our team exudes strength in depth and we undertake work in all areas of employment and discrimination law, including discrimination within the context of education and housing. We have been involved in some of the leading cases that have helped to shape this area of law. We work in the commercial and business side of employment law appearing in the High Court and County Courts and deal with restrictive covenants and injunctions to protect business interests.

Testimonials

“An extremely user friendly and flexible chambers, which provides a refreshingly unstuffy approach and reasonable fees.”  Legal 500

The clerks there, led by Jonathan Cue are always very helpful. The service is prompt and flexible." Chambers and Partners 2015

"They go out of their way to find solutions to a problem and always get back to you immediately, or find a way to handle the matter." Chambers and Partners 2014.

"Pump Court Chambers has an impressive reputation in the market, and has barristers who make regular appearances in the EAT and higher courts. It is noted by clients for its very competitive fee levels." Chambers and Partners 2013.

More about us

As well as our team being recognised by the leading legal directories a number of our practitioners are recognised such as Gary Self, Tim Dracass and Heather Platt.

Our barristers are well known for excellence in advocacy and we have a strong tradition of carrying out detailed and bespoke training to our clients. Even the most junior members of the team are involved in our seminars and the mock tribunals we run. We are often instructed to appear in the EAT by the Bar Pro Bono Unit and the Free Representation Unit.

Members regularly contribute to the New Law Journal, the Solicitors Journal and the ELA Briefing.

Areas covered include:

  • discrimination on the grounds of sex, race, disability, sexual orientation, age and religion and belief
  • employee competition, directors duties and injunctive relief
  • drafting and enforcing restrictive covenants
  • employment rights including status, remuneration and fringe benefits
  • public law proceedings related to employment law and discrimination
  • TUPE
  • equal pay
  • unfair dismissal
  • wrongful dismissal and other issues concerning employment contracts
  • whistleblowing (including claims for interim relief)
  • sports and professional disciplinary tribunal work.

Heather Platt is the Head of our employment team. Jonathan Cue is the Senior Civil Clerk and has over twenty years’ experience as a clerk; he is assisted by a bright and very able junior in Dean Cunniff.

Gary Self is a part time Employment Judge and Hugh Travers also sits as a Judge in the Industrial Tribunal in Belfast. Heather Platt lectures final year law students at City University in London. Several members of the Practice Group have provided employment law training for leading providers, such as CLT, BPP and CIPD.

We are pleased to share with you our Pump Court Costs Reports which are a comprehensive collection of costs decisions in employment cases.

Barristers

Charles Parry

020 7353 0711

c.parry@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1973

Recent cases include: Manager redundancy/constructive dismissal, [Weir Group] Mother with children in a tied cottage, dismissed for...

Justin Gau

020 7353 0711

j.gau@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1989

Justin is developing a practice in employment and discrimination law.  He has an expertise in regulatory and professional misconduct work,...

Gary Self

01962 868161

g.self@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1991

Gary has been described in the Legal 500 as being "Highly technical and commercial with excellent advocacy skills" and "very good, one...

Timothy Dracass

0207 3530711 or 01962 868161

t.dracass@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1998

Tim is an employment law specialist with 16 years of experience at the Bar.  He is recommended for his work in the employment field in the...

Heather Platt

020 7353 0711

h.platt@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2002

Heather represents a wide cross-section of businesses, from multinational corporations to SMEs, as well as public bodies and individuals.  She...

Conor Mullan

020 7353 0711

c.mullan@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2003

Conor has appeared in tribunals for both Claimants and Respondents involving employment issues such as unfair dismissal, constructive dismissal and...

Adam Gadd

020 7353 0711

a.gadd@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2004

In undertaking employment work Adam appears for individuals and a variety of small and medium-sized businesses as well as in high-value cases...

Sally Davidson

01962 868161

s.davidson@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2006

Sally has established herself as a robust and in-demand employment law specialist with a reputation for providing commercial and pragmatic advice at...

Daniella Gilbert

020 7353 0711

d.gilbert@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2007

Daniella undertakes work in all areas of employment law and has particular expertise in: Unfair dismissal – in particular ill-health...

Guy Draper

020 7353 0711

g.draper@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2008

Guy regularly advises in relation to unfair dismissal, discrimination and redundancy, with particular experience in cases involving disability...

Simon Purkis

020 7353 0711

s.purkis@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2008

Simon represents individuals and businesses before Employment Tribunals in respect of unfair dismissal, constructive unfair dismissal, discrimination...

Naomi Gyane

020 7353 0711

n.gyane@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2010

Naomi currently has a diverse employment practice dealing with all aspects of employment law, discrimination, contractual disputes and whistleblowing...

Paul Mertens

0207 3530711

p.mertens@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2010

Paul has a keen interest in employment law and professional discipline and is a member of the Employment Law Bar Association and Employment Lawyers...

Maria Henty

020 7353 0711 / 01962 868161

m.henty@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2012

Ezra Macdonald

01962 868161

e.macdonald@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2012

Ezra has a busy employment practice, covering both paperwork and representation. He has advised and represented clients across a range of issues,...

Lucy Plumpton

020 7353 0711 / 01962 868161

l.plumpton@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2013

Michael Standing

01962 868161 / 020 7353 0711

m.standing@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2013

Samuel Burrett

020 7353 0711

s.burrett@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2013

Richard Wayman

020 7353 0711

r.wayman@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2015