Criminal

Pump Court Chambers’ criminal advocates enjoy an outstanding reputation.  Over the last 20 years more than 15 of the group have become Circuit Judges.  In the same period 15 members of Chambers have been appointed as Queen’s Counsel. With centres in London, Winchester and Swindon we work both across England and Wales and internationally. Our reputation is rooted in more than 60 years’ experience covering criminal work from London to Land’s End.

From these solid foundations we have developed into one of the most modern and forward thinking sets of Chambers. 

We have a very experienced and approachable clerking team.  We are able to offer flexible conference facilities, including by multi-participant telephone conference or Skype.  Our fees are very competitive and as a result of changes to Universal Credit and legal aid means testing we have also devised a private fixed fee scheme, for further information please click here.

We have particular expertise in the following fields:

  • Dishonesty
  • Drugs
  • Fraud
  • Money laundering
  • Sexual offences
  • Violence
  • Courts Martial 
  • Regulatory 

What we offer:

  • Over 35 criminal barristers (including 3 Queen’s Counsel) prosecuting and defending
  •  Representation at all levels from the Magistrates’ Court to the Supreme Court
  • A significant number of Grade 4 prosecutors and members of the Attorney General’s panel of prosecution advocates
  • A strong regional presence with 3 centres
  • A significant number of cases reported annually
  • An exceptional, experienced and approachable clerking team
  • Modern conference facilities
  • A competitive fee structure in the growth area of private work

Barristers

Oba Nsugbe QC

020 7353 0711

o.nsugbe@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1985

In addition he has both prosecuted and defended a number of high profile criminal cases in the UK.

Nigel Pascoe QC

020 7353 0711

n.pascoe@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1966

Formerly Leader of the Western Circuit, he prosecutes and defends equally in high-profile murder cases. To date, he has been briefed in well over 100...

Frank Abbott

01962 868161

Year of call: 1972

In crime his work covers the whole range of serious offences, both for defence solicitors and the Crown Prosecution Service in the Crown Court and...

Charles Parry

020 7353 0711

c.parry@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1973

Michael Butt

020 7353 0711

m.butt@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1974

Charles Gabb

020 7353 0711

c.gabb@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1975

Matthew Scott

020 7353 0711

m.scott@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1985

Justin Gau

020 7353 0711

j.gau@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1989

Andrew Houston

01962 868161

clerks@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1989

James Newton-Price

01962 868161

jnp@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1992

He practises across the spectrum of criminal offences, including murder, manslaughter, rape, robbery, serious violence, causing death by dangerous...

Mark Ruffell

020 7353 0711

m.ruffell@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1992

Serious fraud: Mark has been instructed in many cases of fraud that have included boiler room fraud, carousel fraud, courier fraud, betting...

Mark Ashley

020 7353 0711

m.ashley@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1993

He appears in all areas of Crown Court and Appeal work both defending and prosecuting.  He has particular experience in matters of fraud, money...

Tom Wilkins

01962 868161

t.wilkins@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1993

Forthcoming Cases: R v C: Winchester Crown Court: prosecuting driver of Ferrari F50 for causing death by careless driving. R v C: Court...

Peter Asteris

020 7353 0711

p.asteris@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1996

Peter has defended in numerous cases of rape, child sexual abuse, complex frauds, armed robbery and drugs conspiracies. He is regularly instructed...

Sarah Jones

020 7353 0711

sf.jones@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1996

Sarah practices in all areas of crime, most frequently in sex, child cruelty and neglect cases as well as neglect or ill treatment under the mental...

Timothy Dracass

0207 3530711 or 01962 868161

t.dracass@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1998

Tim has many years experience of criminal advocacy having appeared in numerous Crown Court jury trials and Court of Appeal hearings.   His...

Rachel Spearing

020 7353 0711

r.spearing@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1999

Rachel has been instructed as a senior junior over the last 15 years in cases of serious and organised crime, involving murder, drugs, fraud and...

Anne Brown

02073530711

a.brown@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2000

Acting for both the prosecution and defence, her practice ranges across the whole spectrum of criminal law and covers cases of serious violence,...

Richard Tutt

01962 868161

r.tutt@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2000

Undertakes all areas of criminal work, both prosecuting (CPS Grade 3, 'Rape list') and defending.  Is instructed in relation to the full...

John Dyer

01962 868161

j.dyer@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2002

Timothy Akers

01962 868161

t.akers@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2005

Tim represents clients charged with offences that range across the whole spectrum of criminal law including rape and child sexual offences,...

Guy Draper

020 7353 0711

g.draper@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2008

Guy has a purely defence practice. His instructions for criminal trials include cases of soliciting to murder, historic child sex offences including...

Naomi Gyane

020 7353 0711

n.gyane@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2010

Naomi is developing a strong criminal practice and regularly appears for both the defence and prosecution in the Crown Court. Naomi is committed and...

Andrew Stone

01793 539899

a.stone@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2011

Maria Henty

020 7353 0711 / 01962 868161

m.henty@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2012

Michael Standing

01962 868161 / 020 7353 0711

m.standing@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2013

Samuel Burrett

020 7353 0711

s.burrett@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2013

Richard Wayman

020 7353 0711

r.wayman@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2015

Jesse Cook

020 7353 0711

j.cook@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2012