Courts Martial

The Courts Martial group provides highly experienced, professional advocates in this specialist field who understand the existence, requirements and structure of tri-service life and the procedures of Courts Martial.

As well as appearing in Bulford, Colchester, Catterick and Portsmouth, members of our group regularly appear in Germany, Northern Ireland and Cyprus. We have represented all ranks ranging from Private soldiers to Colonels in the Army, and their equivalents in the Royal Navy and the Royal Air Force.

We all have a thorough working knowledge of the Armed Forces Act 2006. Indeed, members of our group attended at the MOD main building in Whitehall during its draft stage and many have lectured on it subsequently. We regularly appear in relation to alleged offences of:

  • AWOL
  • Desertion
  • Dishonesty
  • Drugs
  • Fraud
  • Insubordination
  • Neglect of duty and misconduct
  • Road traffic offences
  • Sexual offences
  • Violence

Barristers

Nigel Pascoe QC

020 7353 0711

n.pascoe@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1966

Nigel undertakes Courts Martial work and has represented a senior Army officer charged with extensive fraud.

Stewart Patterson

01962 868161

s.patterson@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1967

Frank Abbott

01962 868161

f.abbott@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1972

Michael Butt

020 7353 0711

m.butt@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1974

Charles Gabb

020 7353 0711

c.gabb@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1975

Matthew Scott

020 7353 0711

m.scott@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1985

Matthew has considerable experience defending in Courts Martial both in this country and abroad.  He has achieved acquittals for senior officers...

Justin Gau

020 7353 0711

j.gau@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1989

James Newton-Price

01962 868161

jnp@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1992

Mark Ruffell

020 7353 0711

m.ruffell@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1992

He has defended in the United Kingdom and abroad in Courts Martial.  In Prison law he has been instructed in Parole Board hearings and matters...

Mark Ashley

020 7353 0711

m.ashley@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1993

He was instructed in the first War Crimes trial held in the UK and went on to complete two years as counsel representing a core participant in...

Tom Wilkins

01962 868161

t.wilkins@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1993

Sarah Jones

020 7353 0711

sf.jones@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1996

Sarah appears in court martials and has recently defended SSgt C, on sexual assault charges in a court-martial.

Rachel Spearing

020 7353 0711

r.spearing@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1999

Anne Brown

02073530711

a.brown@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2000

Anne also defends senior and junior ranked military personnel in Court Martial hearings, covering a range of violent, sexual, drug and fraud offences...

Richard Tutt

01962 868161

r.tutt@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2000

Regularly appears in Courts Martial cases both in this country and abroad, and has done throughout his practice.  Has represented ranks ranging...

Lucy Davis

020 7353 0711

l.davis@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2003

Timothy Akers

01962 868161

t.akers@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2005

Tim is an experienced military law practitioner who has represented members of the Armed Forces in the UK and abroad. Recent cases include:...

Paul Mertens

0207 3530711

p.mertens@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2010