Children Public Law

Public Law cases concern applications to place children in the care of Local Authorities, applications for contact to a child in care and to revoke pre-existing care orders as well as foreign and domestic adoptions, and cases under the Inherent Jurisdiction involving 'the right to life' or medical treatment for children.

We have 3 Queen’s Counsel and over 30 Junior Counsel enabling us to provide advice and representation at Court and Tribunal hearings across the whole country.   Our team of barristers is led by Leslie Samuels QC: we have particular experience in advising and representing local authorities, parents and Guardians in all areas of children related work, including applications for Public Law Care and Supervision Orders, applications for Placement and Adoption Orders, applications under the Inherent Jurisdiction of the High Court and disputes where local authorities have been joined as parties and applications for Judicial Review http://www.pumpcourtchambers.com/areas-expertise/judicial-review

Notable cases have included:

  • Non accidental head injuries and multiple fractures.
  • Sexual abuse including where paedophile rings are operating
  • Alleged murder by a sibling child
  • Murder or attempted murder by a parent
  • Where questions of sterilisation arise
  • Serious brain damage to a child where a question arises whether the child should continue to receive treatment.

We provide ongoing seminars and continuing professional education through our own training programme and in conjunction with other providers such as local care practitioner groups, local Resolution groups, Central Law Training, Cpdcast, Datalaw and the Local Authorities. We have a number of Local Authority contracts and a scheme with a particular local authority which allows our junior barristers to spend four months working in-house.  To discuss contracts and placements please contact Tony Atkins who is the Senior Team Clerk on 0207 353 0711 or t.atkins@pumpcourtchambers.com

Barristers

Susan Campbell QC

020 7353 0711

s.campbell@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1986

Leslie Samuels QC

020 7353 0711

l.samuels@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1989

He undertakes complex and high profile public law children cases for parents, Local Authorities and Children’s Guardians both at fact-...

Penny Howe QC

020 7353 0711

p.howe@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1991

John Ker-Reid

020 7353 0711

jkr@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1974

Julie Mackenzie

01793 539899

j.mackenzie@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1978

Julie acts for Local Authorities, Parents and Guardians in cases involving serious injuries to children, sexual abuse and fictitious illness.

Hugh Travers

020 7353 0711

h.travers@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1988

Helen Khan

020 7353 0711

h.khan@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1990

Gary Self

01962 868161

g.self@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1991

Imogen Robins

01962 868161

i.robins@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1991

Imogen is regulary instructed by parents, grandparents, local authorities and guardians.to provide advice and representation in relation to public...

Leonorah Smith

020 73530711

l.smith@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1993

She has dealt with cases involving both physical and emotional abuse. This includes serious non-accidental injuries such as multiple fractures, shake...

Elizabeth Gunther

020 7353 0711

e.gunther@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1993

Richard Hall

020 7353 0711

r.hall@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1995

Amy Ephgrave

01793 539899

a.ephgrave@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1997

She has particular expertise in public law proceedings with a wide experience of care proceedings acting for all parties including local authorities...

Maria Gallagher

020 7353 0711

m.gallagher@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1997

Andrew Grime

01793 539899

a.grime@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1997

He also has considerable experience representing local authorities, parents and guardians dealing with cases involving allegations of serious non-...

Ruth Arlow

020 7353 0711

clerks@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1997

In care proceedings she has represented the local authorities, children and parents and has recent experience in dealing with issues of neglect,...

Andrew Bond

020 7353 0711

a.bond@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1999

Andrew’s main instructions come from parents, although he also represents local authorities. He regularly encounters cases of neglect, physical...

Naznin Islam

020 7353 0711

n.islam@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2000

Lubeya Ramadhan

020 7353 0711

l.ramadhan@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2000

Lubeya is experienced at representing parents and guardians in care proceedings.  She has a wealth of experience in cases involving non-...

Alison Burge

020 7353 0711

a.burge@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2002

Alison has considerable experience of all areas of public law. She accepts instructions on behalf of Local Authorities, parents and children, as well...

Caroline Hartley

020 7353 0711

c.hartley@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2002

Caroline specialises in representing parents, especially if they are vulnerable due to mental health problems, addictions or learning difficulties....

David Josty

01962 868161

d.josty@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2002

David has acted in a broad range of public law cases on behalf of Local Authorities, private parties (including parents, grandparents and aunts) and...

Neelo Shravat

020 7353 0711

n.shravat@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2002

Lucy Davis

020 7353 0711

l.davis@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2003

Lucy has a significant experience in public law proceedings including cases involving medical evidence, allegations of sexual and physical abuse, non...

Claire Fox

020 7353 0711

c.fox@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2003

Zoe Rudd

020 7353 0711

z.rudd@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2003

Children Public Law Zoe's has experience in all areas of public law children work including care, adoption, Special Guardianship and contact...

Charlotte Street

020 7353 0711

c.street@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2003

Sally Davidson

01962 868161

s.davidson@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2006

Sally accepts instructions in private and public family law and has experience of hearings relating to care, contact and injunction proceedings.

Corinne Iten

020 7353 0711

c.iten@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2006

  Family Law Corinne has a special interest in public law cases, including Judicial Review. In 2010 she spent 4 months on secondment as in-...

Patricia O’Driscoll

020 7353 0711

p.odriscoll@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2006

  Acting for both local authorities and parents in care proceedings, Patricia is experienced in dealing with complex cases involving multiple...

Jennifer Lee

020 7353 0711

clerks@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2007

Eleanor Bruce

020 7353 0711

e.bruce@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2008

Eleanor accepts instructions on behalf of the Local Authority, parents, guardian and interveners.  She is frequently instructed in matters that...

Simon Purkis

020 7353 0711

s.purkis@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2008

Jennifer Swan

020 7353 0711

j.swan@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2009

Jennie specialises particularly in public law children matters, in which she regularly acts for Local Authorities, parents, guardians and intervenors...

Nicholas Williamson

020 7353 0711

n.williamson@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2009

Victoria Ellis

020 7353 0711

v.ellis@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2010

Victoria has experience acting for Local Authorities, parents and grandparents in all stages of non-contentious and contested hearings. She has...

Paul Mertens

0207 3530711

p.mertens@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2010

Jack Rundall

020 7353 0711

j.rundall@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2011

Jack has been instructed in cases concerning allegations of serious sexual abuse, psychological harm and those involving parents with personality...

Maria Henty

020 7353 0711 / 01962 868161

m.henty@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2012

Michael Standing

01962 868161 / 020 7353 0711

m.standing@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2013

Richard Wayman

020 7353 0711

r.wayman@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2015