Children Public Law

Public Law cases concern applications to place children in the care of Local Authorities, applications for contact to a child in care and to revoke pre-existing care orders as well as foreign and domestic adoptions, and cases under the Inherent Jurisdiction involving 'the right to life' or medical treatment for children.

We have 3 Queen’s Counsel and over 30 Junior Counsel enabling us to provide advice and representation at Court and Tribunal hearings across the whole country.   Our team of barristers is led by Leslie Samuels QC: we have particular experience in advising and representing local authorities, parents and Guardians in all areas of children related work, including applications for Public Law Care and Supervision Orders, applications for Placement and Adoption Orders, applications under the Inherent Jurisdiction of the High Court and disputes where local authorities have been joined as parties and applications for Judicial Review http://www.pumpcourtchambers.com/areas-expertise/judicial-review

Notable cases have included:

  • Non accidental head injuries and multiple fractures.
  • Sexual abuse including where paedophile rings are operating
  • Alleged murder by a sibling child
  • Murder or attempted murder by a parent
  • Where questions of sterilisation arise
  • Serious brain damage to a child where a question arises whether the child should continue to receive treatment.

We provide ongoing seminars and continuing professional education through our own training programme and in conjunction with other providers such as local care practitioner groups, local Resolution groups, Central Law Training, Cpdcast, Datalaw and the Local Authorities. We have a number of Local Authority contracts and a scheme with a particular local authority which allows our junior barristers to spend four months working in-house.  To discuss contracts and placements please contact Tony Atkins who is the Senior Team Clerk on 0207 353 0711 or t.atkins@pumpcourtchambers.com

Barristers

Susan Campbell QC's picture

Susan Campbell QC

020 7353 0711

s.campbell@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1986

Leslie Samuels QC's picture

Leslie Samuels QC

020 7353 0711

l.samuels@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1989

He undertakes complex and high profile public law children cases for parents, Local Authorities and Children’s Guardians both at fact-...

Penny Howe QC's picture

Penny Howe QC

020 7353 0711

p.howe@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1991

John Ker-Reid's picture

John Ker-Reid

020 7353 0711

jkr@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1974

Julie Mackenzie's picture

Julie Mackenzie

01793 539899

j.mackenzie@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1978

Julie acts for Local Authorities, Parents and Guardians in cases involving serious injuries to children, sexual abuse and fictitious illness.

Margaret Pine-Coffin's picture

Margaret Pine-Coffin

01962 868161

mpc@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1981

Hugh Travers's picture

Hugh Travers

020 7353 0711

h.travers@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1988

Helen Khan's picture

Helen Khan

020 7353 0711

h.khan@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1990

Gary Self's picture

Gary Self

01962 868161

g.self@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1991

Imogen Robins's picture

Imogen Robins

01962 868161

i.robins@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1991

Imogen has a niche practice in public law proceedings for her longstanding solicitors.

Leonorah Smith's picture

Leonorah Smith

020 73530711

l.smith@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1993

She has dealt with cases involving both physical and emotional abuse. This includes serious non-accidental injuries such as multiple fractures, shake...

Elizabeth Gunther's picture

Elizabeth Gunther

020 7353 0711

e.gunther@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1993

Amy Ephgrave's picture

Amy Ephgrave

01793 539899

a.ephgrave@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1997

She has particular expertise in public law proceedings with a wide experience of care proceedings acting for all parties including local authorities...

Maria Gallagher's picture

Maria Gallagher

020 7353 0711

m.gallagher@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1997

Andrew Grime's picture

Andrew Grime

01793 539899

a.grime@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1997

He also has considerable experience representing local authorities, parents and guardians dealing with cases involving allegations of serious non-...

Ruth Arlow's picture

Ruth Arlow

020 7353 0711

clerks@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1997

In care proceedings she has represented the local authorities, children and parents and has recent experience in dealing with issues of neglect,...

Andrew Bond's picture

Andrew Bond

020 7353 0711

a.bond@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1999

Andrew’s main instructions come from parents, although he also represents local authorities. He regularly encounters cases of neglect, physical...

Naznin Islam's picture

Naznin Islam

020 7353 0711

n.islam@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2000

Lubeya Ramadhan's picture

Lubeya Ramadhan

020 7353 0711

l.ramadhan@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2000

Lubeya is experienced at representing parents and guardians in care proceedings.  She has a wealth of experience in cases involving non-...

Caroline Hartley's picture

Caroline Hartley

020 7353 0711

c.hartley@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2002

Caroline specialises in representing parents, especially if they are vulnerable due to mental health problems, addictions or learning difficulties....

Helen Brander's picture

Helen Brander

020 7353 0711

h.brander@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2002

David Josty's picture

David Josty

01962 868161

d.josty@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2002

David has acted in a broad range of public law cases on behalf of Local Authorities, private parties (including parents, grandparents and aunts) and...

Neelo Shravat's picture

Neelo Shravat

020 7353 0711

n.shravat@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2002

Lucy Davis's picture

Lucy Davis

020 7353 0711

l.davis@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2003

She is regularly instructed to represent parents and grandparents and also accepts instructions from Guardians. She has been involved in numerous...

Claire Fox's picture

Claire Fox

020 7353 0711

c.fox@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2003

Zoe Rudd's picture

Zoe Rudd

020 7353 0711

z.rudd@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2003

Children Public Law Zoe's has experience in all areas of public law children work including care, adoption, Special Guardianship and contact...

Charlotte Street's picture

Charlotte Street

020 7353 0711

c.street@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2003

Alexandra Gilmore's picture

Alexandra Gilmore

020 7353 0711

a.gilmore@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2005

Corinne Iten's picture

Corinne Iten

020 7353 0711

c.iten@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2006

Corinne has a special interest in public law cases, including Judicial Review. In 2010 she spent 4 months on secondment as in-house counsel for a...

Amelia Sugden's picture

Amelia Sugden

020 7353 0711

a.sugden@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2006

Patricia O’Driscoll's picture

Patricia O’Driscoll

020 7353 0711

p.odriscoll@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2006

  Acting for both local authorities and parents in care proceedings, Patricia is experienced in dealing with complex cases involving multiple...

Eleanor Bruce's picture

Eleanor Bruce

020 7353 0711

e.bruce@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2008

Eleanor accepts instructions on behalf of the Local Authority, parents, guardian and interveners.  She is frequently instructed in matters that...

Simon Purkis's picture

Simon Purkis

020 7353 0711

s.purkis@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2008

Jennifer Swan's picture

Jennifer Swan

020 7353 0711

j.swan@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2009

Jennie specialises particularly in public law children matters, in which she regularly acts for Local Authorities, parents, guardians and intervenors...

Nicholas Williamson's picture

Nicholas Williamson

020 7353 0711

n.williamson@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2009

Victoria Ellis's picture

Victoria Ellis

020 7353 0711

v.ellis@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2010

Victoria has experience acting for Local Authorities, parents and grandparents in all stages of non-contentious and contested hearings. She has...

Jack Rundall's picture

Jack Rundall

020 7353 0711

j.rundall@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2011

Maria Henty's picture

Maria Henty

020 7353 0711 / 01962 868161

m.henty@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2012

Jesse Cook's picture

Jesse Cook

020 7353 0711

j.cook@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2012

Cordelia Williams's picture

Cordelia Williams

020 7353 0711

c.williams@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2014

Cordelia undertakes all forms of care, adoption and other public law proceedings. She represents clients making/defending serious allegations of...

Mark Ablett's picture

Mark Ablett

020 7353 0711

m.ablett@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2014

Richard Wayman's picture

Richard Wayman

020 7353 0711

r.wayman@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2015

Samara Brackley's picture

Samara Brackley

020 7353 0711

s.brackley@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2016

Samara receives instructions in all forms of care, adoption, Court of Protection and other public law proceedings. Samara acted for the local...