Children Private Law

We have almost 50 barristers who specialise in residence and contact disputes, applications for leave to remove children from the jurisdiction and general specific issue applications relating to children. Our team also has enormous experience dealing with child abduction situations. Our barristers are well renowned for dealing sensitively and effectively with all disputes. Our team has vast experience of dealing with cases involving serious domestic and sexual abuse and emotional harm to children.

We always strive to achieve pragmatic and workable solutions for the parties and we act for parents and grandparents as well as for Children’s Guardians.

Barristers

Susan Campbell QC

020 7353 0711

s.campbell@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1986

Leslie Samuels QC

020 7353 0711

l.samuels@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1989

He represents parents and sometimes children in a range of private law disputes including applications for Child Arrangements Orders (formally...

Penny Howe QC

020 7353 0711

p.howe@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1991

John Ker-Reid

020 7353 0711

jkr@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1974

Julie Mackenzie

01793 539899

j.mackenzie@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1978

Julie has extensive experience of representing parents and grandparents in Contact and Residence disputes with particular emphasis on helping clients...

Martin Blount

020 7353 0711

m.blount@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1982

Hugh Travers

020 7353 0711

h.travers@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1988

Catherine Breslin

020 7353 0711

c.breslin@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1990

She also undertakes claims under Schedule 1 of the Children Act for financial provision for children.

Helen Khan

020 7353 0711

h.khan@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1990

Gary Self

01962 868161

g.self@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1991

Imogen Robins

01962 868161

i.robins@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1991

Imogen has considerable expertise across a whole spectrum of private child law issues. Recent cases include: Acting for a Grandmother seeking...

Geoffrey Kelly

020 7353 0711

g.kelly@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1992

Oliver Peirson

020 7353 0711

o.peirson@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1993

Oliver specialises in high conflict contact and residence disputes, particularly those involving “alienation”. He also has considerable...

Leonorah Smith

020 73530711

l.smith@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1993

Her expertise includes dealing with cases involving domestic violence, applying and resisting injunctions and occupation orders as well as contact...

Elizabeth Gunther

020 7353 0711

e.gunther@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1993

Richard Hall

020 7353 0711

r.hall@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1995

Mark Dubbery

020 7353 0711

m.dubbery@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1996

He also deals with injunctions, committals and all manner of private law applications under of the Children Act 1989.

Amy Ephgrave

01793 539899

a.ephgrave@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1997

Within private law disputes she has notable experience of applications for leave to remove from the jurisdiction, emergency applications, and...

Maria Gallagher

020 7353 0711

m.gallagher@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1997

Andrew Grime

01793 539899

a.grime@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1997

In cases involving children he advises and represents litigants in a wide range of private law applications in the High Court, County Court and...

Annie Ward

01962 868161

a.ward@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1997

Annie takes on the more complex private law cases, usually involving 9.5 Guardians, a complete breakdown in contact, a hostile parent or parents, or...

Ruth Arlow

020 7353 0711

clerks@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1997

Andrew Bond

020 7353 0711

a.bond@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1999

Andrew only gets involved in more complex private law proceedings, usually involving extra-jurisdictional issues, guardians for the child or children...

Louise De Rozarieux

020 7353 0711

l.derozarieux@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1999

Naznin Islam

020 7353 0711

n.islam@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2000

Stuart McGhee

01962 868161

s.mcghee@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2000

Stuart is experienced in all aspects of Children Act matters, (excluding Public Law proceedings). Cases involving claims pursuant to Schedule I of...

Lubeya Ramadhan

020 7353 0711

l.ramadhan@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2000

Regularly instructed in residence, contact and specific issue applications.  Particular expertise in lengthy and complex disputes where there...

Alison Burge

020 7353 0711

a.burge@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2002

Alison has acted in matters relating to residence and contact and continues to work in the field of private law under the new Child Arrangements...

Caroline Hartley

020 7353 0711

c.hartley@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2002

Caroline specialises in representing parents, especially if they are vulnerable due to mental health problems, addictions or learning difficulties....

David Josty

01962 868161

d.josty@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2002

David regularly acts in contested private law proceedings ranging from residence and contact disputes to cases concerning removal from jurisdiction...

Neelo Shravat

020 7353 0711

n.shravat@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2002

John Chapman

020 7353 0711

j.chapman@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2003

John’s practice includes difficult cases involving international elements, as well as those involving both physical and sexual abuse.  ...

Lucy Davis

020 7353 0711

l.davis@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2003

In private law proceedings Lucy's practice encompasses residence and contact cases and extends to all types of injunction hearings. She has a...

Claire Fox

020 7353 0711

c.fox@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2003

Zoe Rudd

020 7353 0711

z.rudd@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2003

Charlotte Street

020 7353 0711

c.street@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2003

Tara Lyons

020 7353 0711

t.lyons@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2005

Tara is regularly instructed in a range of complex private law disputes including those concerning allegations of serious physical or sexual abuse,...

Sally Davidson

01962 868161

s.davidson@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2006

Corinne Iten

020 7353 0711

c.iten@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2006

Patricia O’Driscoll

020 7353 0711

p.odriscoll@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2006

  Patricia advises and acts for parents and extended family members in all types of private children cases including contact and residence...

Jennifer Lee

020 7353 0711

clerks@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2007

Jennifer has in-depth experience of children law matters, in both private law and public law. She is regularly instructed in complex residence and...

Eleanor Bruce

020 7353 0711

e.bruce@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2008

Eleanor is regularly instructed on behalf of parents, children and grandparents in relation to complex private law disputes.  She has particular...

Simon Purkis

020 7353 0711

s.purkis@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2008

Jennifer Swan

020 7353 0711

j.swan@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2009

Jennie has very wide experience of contested private law disputes. She represents clients in cases involving allegations of serious harm, intractable...

Nicholas Williamson

020 7353 0711

n.williamson@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2009

Victoria Ellis

020 7353 0711

v.ellis@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2010

Victoria has experience of private law children matters including those with elements of Domestic Violence or alcohol and substance misuse. She has...

Paul Mertens

0207 3530711

p.mertens@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2010

Since joining chambers, Paul has gained extensive experience in a wide range of private law children matters.  He regularly represents parents...

Jack Rundall

020 7353 0711

j.rundall@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2011

Jack frequently represents clients involved in contact and residence disputes and has achieved successful results in countless fact-finding and final...

Maria Henty

020 7353 0711 / 01962 868161

m.henty@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2012

Lucy Plumpton

020 7353 0711 / 01962 868161

l.plumpton@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2013

Lucy is frequently instructed in Children Act 1989 matters. She has experience in cases complicated by allegations of abuse or neglect, involving non...

Michael Standing

01962 868161 / 020 7353 0711

m.standing@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2013

Samuel Burrett

020 7353 0711

s.burrett@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2013

Richard Wayman

020 7353 0711

r.wayman@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2015