Business and Commercial

As one of the largest common law sets in the country Pump Court Chambers is in the fortunate position of having specialists in a wide variety of areas.  The Business and Commercial team offers a range of experienced practitioners who between them have expertise in most aspects of business law.  Our barristers act for both corporate and individual clients and provide both contentious and non-contentious advice.  We also benefit from shared expertise in a number of closely related areas such as employment, business crime and regulatory work.

Areas which the team cover include:

  • Agency
  • Asset recovery
  • Bailment
  • Breach of Warranty
  • Civil Fraud
  • Construction
  • Commercial property
  • Commercial fraud
  • Consumer Credit
  • Corporate and regulatory advice
  • Directors including fiduciary duties and disqualification proceedings
  • Guarantees
  • Health and Safety compliance
  • Intellectual Property
  • Joint Ventures
  • Partnership 
  • Recovery of assets
  • Sale of Goods
  • Shareholders' and Boardroom disputes

Our barristers have particular expertise in disputes involving interim injunctions (freezing and search orders in particular) and a track record of successfully obtaining injunctive relief for their own clients and discharging that obtained ex parte by their opponents.

We are involved in all types of commercial dispute resolution, including acting before and as arbitrators and mediators, and act as experts on English law in overseas jurisdictions.

We are able to provide non-contentious advice as well as advocacy at all levels of the judicial hierarchy.

Barristers

Oba Nsugbe QC's picture

Oba Nsugbe QC

020 7353 0711

o.nsugbe@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1985

Ongoing and recent commercial cases: Advising multinational bank seeking to establish card services in Nigeria on compliance with applicable...

Charles Parry's picture

Charles Parry

020 7353 0711

c.parry@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1973

Gary Self's picture

Gary Self

01962 868161

g.self@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1991

Gary has undertaken a full range of civil litigation disputes and continues to do so both in the High Court and County Court.

Mark Ruffell's picture

Mark Ruffell

020 7353 0711

m.ruffell@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1992

Mark's involvement with businesses arises out of regulatory and criminal interactions that occur when there is a breach of financial standards or...

Christopher Wilkins's picture

Christopher Wilkins

020 7353 0711

c.wilkins@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1993

Mark Dubbery's picture

Mark Dubbery

020 7353 0711

m.dubbery@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1996

Timothy Dracass's picture

Timothy Dracass

0207 3530711 or 01962 868161

t.dracass@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1998

Tim also regularly appears in County Court and High Court proceedings, particularly in employment-related matters such as protection from harassment...

Jason Nickless's picture

Jason Nickless

020 7353 0711

j.nickless@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2001

Jason Nickless is a commercial litigator with extensive experience in contractual disputes, corporate as well as personal insolvency, director’...

Heather Platt's picture

Heather Platt

020 7353 0711

h.platt@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2002

Heather regularly advises businesses, partnerships and companies on a range of matters including debt recovery, disputes about fees, breach of...

Amy Berry's picture

Amy Berry

020 7353 0711

a.berry@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2003

Commercial and insolvency cases embrace both personal and corporate insolvency, commercial contracts including sale of goods and supply of services,...

Adam Gadd's picture

Adam Gadd

020 7353 0711

a.gadd@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2004

Adam has a wide range of experience in dealing with business and commercial disputes. He is regularly engaged by businesses and consumers for issues...

Rachel Troup's picture

Rachel Troup

01962 868161

r.troup@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2005

Daniella Gilbert's picture

Daniella Gilbert

020 7353 0711

d.gilbert@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2007

Daniella has particular experience in disputes involving:   injunctions; Breach of covenant; Joint venture and investment disputes...

Guy Draper's picture

Guy Draper

020 7353 0711

g.draper@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2008

Guy also has extensive experience in civil matters. He has acted for the claimant in a multi-track claim against the Metropolitan Police for wrongful...

Simon Purkis's picture

Simon Purkis

020 7353 0711

s.purkis@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2008

Simon advises and represents a wide range of businesses on general contractual law matters including disputes concerning the Sale of Goods Act,...

Paul Mertens's picture

Paul Mertens

0207 3530711

p.mertens@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2010

With his background in company secretarial and in-house legal work, Paul has gained the skills and experience that come with negotiating and drafting...

Timothy Salisbury's picture

Timothy Salisbury

020 7353 0711

t.salisbury@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2010

Maria Henty's picture

Maria Henty

020 7353 0711 / 01962 868161

m.henty@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2012

Ezra Macdonald's picture

Ezra Macdonald

020 7353 0711

e.macdonald@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2012

Ezra has a well-developed interest in contractual disputes, and his commercial practice often relates directly to issues in employment law. He has...

Jesse Cook's picture

Jesse Cook

020 7353 0711

j.cook@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2012

Lucy Plumpton's picture

Lucy Plumpton

020 7353 0711 / 01962 868161

l.plumpton@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2013

Lucy acts for business and individuals in cases involving breach of contract, bankruptcy and the provision of goods and services. She has a solid...