Business and Commercial

As one of the largest common law sets in the country Pump Court Chambers is in the fortunate position of having specialists in a wide variety of areas.  The Business and Commercial team offers a range of experienced practitioners who between them have expertise in most aspects of business law.  Our barristers act for both corporate and individual clients and provide both contentious and non-contentious advice.  We also benefit from shared expertise in a number of closely related areas such as employment, business crime and regulatory work.

Areas which the team cover include:

  • Agency
  • Asset recovery
  • Bailment
  • Breach of Warranty
  • Civil Fraud
  • Construction
  • Commercial property
  • Commercial fraud
  • Consumer Credit
  • Corporate and regulatory advice
  • Directors including fiduciary duties and disqualification proceedings
  • Guarantees
  • Health and Safety compliance
  • Intellectual Property
  • Joint Ventures
  • Partnership 
  • Recovery of assets
  • Sale of Goods
  • Shareholders' and Boardroom disputes

Our barristers have particular expertise in disputes involving interim injunctions (freezing and search orders in particular) and a track record of successfully obtaining injunctive relief for their own clients and discharging that obtained ex parte by their opponents.

We are involved in all types of commercial dispute resolution, including acting before and as arbitrators and mediators, and act as experts on English law in overseas jurisdictions.

We are able to provide non-contentious advice as well as advocacy at all levels of the judicial hierarchy.

Barristers

Oba Nsugbe QC

020 7353 0711

o.nsugbe@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1985

Ongoing and recent commercial cases: Advising multinational bank seeking to establish card services in Nigeria on compliance with applicable...

Stewart Patterson

01962 868161

s.patterson@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1967

Stewart is one of our most experienced commercial practitioners.  Stewart has a particular expertise in construction law.  He fequently...

Charles Parry

020 7353 0711

c.parry@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1973

Gary Self

01962 868161

g.self@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1991

Gary has undertaken a full range of civil litigation disputes and continues to do so both in the High Court and County Court.

Mark Ashley

020 7353 0711

m.ashley@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1993

Christopher Wilkins

020 7353 0711

c.wilkins@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1993

Mark Dubbery

020 7353 0711

m.dubbery@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1996

Timothy Dracass

0207 3530711 or 01962 868161

t.dracass@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1998

Tim also regularly appears in County Court and High Court proceedings, particularly in employment-related matters such as protection from harassment...

Jason Nickless

020 7353 0711

j.nickless@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2001

Jason Nickless is a commercial litigator with extensive experience in contractual disputes, corporate as well as personal insolvency, director’...

Heather Platt

020 7353 0711

h.platt@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2002

Heather regularly advises businesses, partnerships and companies on a range of matters including debt recovery, disputes about fees, breach of...

Amy Berry

020 7353 0711

a.berry@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2003

Commercial and insolvency cases embrace both personal and corporate insolvency, commercial contracts including sale of goods and supply of services,...

Adam Gadd

020 7353 0711

a.gadd@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2004

Adam has a wide range of experience in dealing with business and commercial disputes. He is regularly engaged by businesses and consumers for issues...

Tara Lyons

020 7353 0711

t.lyons@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2005

Tara has built a thriving practice in business and commercial law and is repeatedly instructed by several multi-national companies in a range of...

Daniella Gilbert

020 7353 0711

d.gilbert@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2007

  Daniella has particular experience in disputes involving:   injunctions; Joint venture and investment disputes...

Jennifer Lee

020 7353 0711

clerks@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2007

Jennifer's civil practice is strongly underpinned by her keen interest and experience in contract law, with a particular emphasis on heavy-weight...

Guy Draper

020 7353 0711

g.draper@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2008

Guy also has extensive experience in civil matters. He has acted for the claimant in a multi-track claim against the Metropolitan Police for wrongful...

Simon Purkis

020 7353 0711

s.purkis@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2008

Simon advises and represents a wide range of businesses on general contractual law matters including disputes concerning the Sale of Goods Act,...

Paul Mertens

0207 3530711

p.mertens@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2010

With his background in company secretarial and in-house legal work, Paul has gained the skills and experience that come with negotiating and drafting...

Timothy Salisbury

020 7353 0711

t.salisbury@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2010

Jack Rundall

020 7353 0711

j.rundall@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2011

Jack has a particular interest in contractual disputes and has acted for small and medium sized businesses, as well as multi-national...

Maria Henty

020 7353 0711 / 01962 868161

m.henty@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2012

Ezra Macdonald

020 7353 0711

e.macdonald@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2012

Ezra has a well-developed interest in contractual disputes, and his commercial practice often relates directly to issues in employment law. He has...

Lucy Plumpton

020 7353 0711 / 01962 868161

l.plumpton@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2013

Lucy acts for business and individuals in cases involving breach of contract, bankruptcy and the provision of goods and services. She has a solid...

Michael Standing

01962 868161 / 020 7353 0711

m.standing@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2013