Building and Construction

Our barristers pursue and defend claims in relation to building and construction work. We have substantial experience in advising, strategy planning and conducting litigation. Issues our clients raise upon which we advise include:

  • Remedial works required?
  • Work not been completed on time?
  • Overcharged for the work undertaken?
  • What happens if there wasn't a written contract?
  • Can I get my money back?
  • Can I get insurance?

We advise and represent in legal proceedings in the United Kingdom and international clients in building and construction disputes in London and regional UK courts and in non-litigation dispute resolution systems - arbitration, adjudication, mediation. We act for companies, firms and developers of all sizes, including: commercial builders; residential builders; main contractors; sub-contractors; employers; developers; architects; and surveyors.

We understand that, irrespective of the amount of money involved, building disputes can rapidly become management-time-consuming and expensive.  We have a dedicated mediation team with expertise in building and construction disputes.

Barristers

Stewart Patterson

01962 868161

s.patterson@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1967

With a degree in construction law, Stewart specialises in cases arising from building and engineering contracts of all kinds. 

Frank Abbott

01962 868161

f.abbott@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1972

Geoffrey Kelly

020 7353 0711

g.kelly@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1992

Andrew Grime

01793 539899

a.grime@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 1997

Jason Nickless

020 7353 0711

j.nickless@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2001

Jason Nickless has represented large scale builders, family firms and home owners in disputes involving allegations of defective works and breaches...

Neelo Shravat

020 7353 0711

n.shravat@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2002

Amy Berry

020 7353 0711

a.berry@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2003

Amy grew up with her father and grandfather working in the construction industry. She is adept and at home at dealing with planners, architects,...

Charlotte Street

020 7353 0711

c.street@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2003

Adam Gadd

020 7353 0711

a.gadd@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2004

Corinne Iten

020 7353 0711

c.iten@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2006

Jennifer Lee

020 7353 0711

clerks@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2007

Eleanor Bruce

020 7353 0711

e.bruce@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2008

Simon Purkis

020 7353 0711

s.purkis@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2008

Maria Henty

020 7353 0711 / 01962 868161

m.henty@pumpcourtchambers.com

Year of call: 2012